Site Help

Description

Gates has implemented a new online web and email based file transfer system.  Using this system, any Gates employee or their guests may send very large files over the internet.  Files are uploaded to the server and addressed to one or more email recipients.  The recipients then receive an email with a link and password to download the files. 

Up to 2 gigabytes of files may be transferred in one operation.  Whenever possible, this system should be used to transfer files instead of email attachments. Files that are transferred have a designated time limit in which they may be downloaded and are automatically deleted after they expire.

The system is only available for use by Gates employees that have an existing network account.  Employees may also invite colleagues and associates such as suppliers and customers to use the system so that files may be transferred back and forth.

Access the system using this address:  https://transfer.gates.com.   You must read and agree to the Transfer Terms of Use to use the system.

Read this Online Help or contact the IT Service Desk if you have any questions or need assistance.  Please use the feedback form if you have any comments or suggestions.

Accounts and Login

Use the Login option on the menu to enter your username and password.

  • Active Directory users login to the system using the DOMAIN\USERNAME format with their existing password.
  • If you forget your password, you must contact the helpdesk if you have an Active Directory account to have it reset.
  • If you have more than a few bad password attempts then you will have to enter the random text displayed to login. 
  • Use the Forgot My Password button to have your password emailed to you if you are a guest on the system.

Transferring Files

Use the Transfer option on the main menu to transfer files.

Step 1 – Selecting Recipients

  • Enter the email addresses of the recipients you wish to send files to and click the Add button.
  • Click on the Recent button to select from your top 10 recent recipients to save time.
  • Click on the Address Book button to search and select from the global address list.
  • Enter a short note to the recipients to describe what you are sending.

Step 2 – Selecting Files

  • Click on Continue to Select Files to move on to selecting your files to transfer.
  • Click on the Select buttons to browse your computer for the files to transfer.
  • Click on the Add button if you need to send more than three files at once.
  • Select the number of days you need to files to remain on the server available for downloading.
  • Click on the Transfer Files Now to start sending the files.
  • When the upload is complete your recipients will receive an email notifying them to download the files.
  • You will also receive an email listing the recipients and files transferred.
  • Click on the Transfer More Files to send another batch of files.

Downloading Files

To download transferred files, the recipients simply click on the link in the email notification they receive.
Files can also be manually downloaded if the recipient's email system has corrupted or blocked the link in some way.
Use the Download option on the main menu to manually enter the download code then click the Get Download button.
You can use the receipt area to send a quick email to the sender letting them know if you have the file or not.
Use the handy Files option on the main menu to list and download files that have been sent to you.

Transfer History

Use the History option on the main menu to view a list of all the files you have sent.

  • Click the Notify button to re-send the download notification if the recipient has lost it.
  • Click the Add button to send the file to another recipient not in the initial list.
  • Click the Download button to download one of your own files.
  • You may also right-click on the Download button and copy the hyperlink to use as necessary.
  • Click the Cancel button to prevent a file from being downloaded if it was sent unintentionally or for any other reason.
  • Click the Downloaders button to view a list of times that a file was downloaded.

Inviting Guests

Use the Guests option on the main menu to invite and manage your guest users.

  • Click the Invite a Guest to Use the System button.
  • Enter the name and email of the guest and click on the Submit  button.
  • Your guest will receive an invitation email with a link to click to complete their registration.
  • Click the Enable or Disable button to disable a guest user that does not need to use the system any more.
  • Guests are only enabled for 30 days before their account will expire. Click Extend to give them another 30 days.
  • Click the Notify button to resend the guest invitation if the guest has lost it.

Profile

Use the Profile option on the main menu to view your profile information.

  • Guest users can use this screen to modify their information.
  • Active Directory users cannot modify their profile information since it comes from the directory.